HUNTINGDONSHIRE DISTRICT COUNCIL

MINUTES of the meeting of the LICENSING COMMITTEE held in the Council Chamber, Pathfinder House, St Mary's Street, Huntingdon PE29 3TN on Wednesday, 16 May 2007.

PRESENT:	Councillors R W J Eaton, A Hansard, T D Sanderson	K M Baker, R S Farrer, I R Muir, and J S Watt.	J J Dutton, J D Fell, R Powell,
APOLOGIES:	Apologies for absence from the meeting were submitted on behalf of Councillors J T Bell and J M Sadler.		

1. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

RESOLVED

that Councillor J M Sadler be elected Chairman of the Committee for the ensuing Municipal Year.

Having noted that Councillor J M Sadler had submitted his apologies for the meeting, it was

RESOLVED

that Councillor I R Muir be elected Chairman for the duration of the meeting.

2. MINUTES

The Minutes of the meeting of the Committee held on 27th November 2006 were approved as a correct record and signed by the Chairman.

3. MEMBERS' INTERESTS

No declarations were received.

4. APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN

RESOLVED

that Councillor J T Bell be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Committee for the ensuing Municipal Year.

5. APPOINTMENT OF SUB-COMMITTEES

The Committee were reminded that under the Licensing Act 2003 one or more Sub-Committees could be appointed to which the discharge of certain responsibilities would be allocated to them. Having noted the potential number of Sub-Committee hearings that might be required in that some hearings would be called at short notice, the Committee agreed that its Membership should be divided into three groups of Members, from which a total of nine Sub-Committees comprising three Members would be appointed.

RESOLVED

that the Committee establish four Groups from which Members would be appointed.

RESOLVED

- (a) 1. Councillors Sadler, Baker and Hansard;
 - 2. Councillors Sadler, Baker and Watt;
 - 3. Councillors Sadler, Hansard and Watt.
- (b) 1. Councillors Bell, Dutton and Fell;
 - 2. Councillors Bell, Dutton and Powell;
 - 3. Councillors Bell, Fell and Powell.
- (c) 1. Councillors Muir, Eaton and Farrer;
 - 2. Councillors Muir, Eaton and Sanderson;
 - 3. Councillors Muir, Farrer and Sanderson.

Chairman